Words

Their mouths moved rapidly, words came in melodic rivers that drowned my ears. I was just getting the hang of this. I was beginning to comprehend. I was almost done climbing over the Tower of Babel.

I was so close to breaking that language barrier.

For now, I merely conquered the heights of a kitchen stool as my mom fixed dinner. With my English textbook in hand, I would find large words that I don’t know.

I took a deep breath, as though to begin a recital, “Hey mom, does this sound right? ‘Uh-pi-phony (epiphany)’ ”

“Can you say that again?” My mom’s eyes remained fixed upon the toast recipes that she was studying.

“Uh-pi-fuh-nee?”

“Is that end sound even supposed to go up like that?”

“No, that’s because it’s posed as a question, mom…”

So, I read and read and read and read. Then I copied lines that I liked, things that sounded nice. Eventually I wrote stories with those lines, swapping words with other words.

Maybe one day, just maybe, I will be able to talk in rivers, too, and I will be pulling those whose ears are drowning into safety.

Leave a Reply

