Murder in the Dark

“Murder in the Dark,” screamed the white text. What a peculiar name for a tart, I made a mental note.

Being a sucker for playful language and a shipper for chocolate and raspberries, I made my purchase, “May I have a murder in the dark, please?” The phrase sounded absurd when said aloud.

The clerk blinked, then smiled, “Sure” and clicked buttons.

I was walking home with the plastic bag dangling in my hand when I saw my shadow joined by another. I thought it my sister, or a friend, who found me and snapped around to say hi.

A shadow met me, like chocolate drowning the red colors of the tart, a liquid shadow that choked, murdered, smothered me in the dark.

Leave a Reply

